Valutazione discussione:
  • 0 voto(i) - 0 media
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
D-Link DIR-879 EXO Router Wireless 802.11ac 1900 Dual-Band
One thing that I did not say before,just an advice to make the router work with no problems. Before upgrading,note your connection settings,then reset to factory defaults,and upgrade in this order: first 20161018_1029_DIR_879A1_ALPHA_2.5.0_sdk-master.internal.bin and your interface will look different,don't be scared,if it asks to set a password to access,set one,   then go to system/upgrade and flash    2017.02.01-17.54_DIR_879A1_3.0.1_release.bin...after reboot...wait for 30 seconds and reset to factory defaults again,and then you can set it the way you want.
So,one reset before upgrade...one after flashing both files,then you can make your settings.
PS: do not try to save settings of the original firmware in cfg file and restore,it will brick the new firmware,because the codes are different...do your settings manually.
Cita messaggio
(13-09-2018, 20:03)willy27 Ha scritto: One thing that I did not say before,just an advice to make the router work with no problems...

Thank you! I've saved your message for reference. So in order: reset to factory default (no problem here, i haven't done much settings than change the Lan ip), then upload the first file called "Alpha SDK", eventually a new password to access the router, upgrade with the firmware 3.0.1, then another reset to factory (from firmware or from the back button?) default. It's simple after all. Now i'm waiting to buy another used 879 so i can leave one with the original firmware.
Cita messaggio
(14-09-2018, 9:27)Stefano45 Ha scritto:
(13-09-2018, 20:03)willy27 Ha scritto: One thing that I did not say before,just an advice to make the router work with no problems...

Thank you! I've saved your message for reference. So in order: reset to factory default (no problem here, i haven't done much settings than change the Lan ip), then upload the first file called "Alpha SDK", eventually a new password to access the router, upgrade with the firmware 3.0.1, then another reset to factory (from firmware or from the back button?) default. It's simple after all. Now i'm waiting to buy another used 879 so i can leave one with the original firmware.

From firmware is ok.
Cita messaggio
(14-09-2018, 16:07)willy27 Ha scritto: From firmware is ok.

Did you check the channel list on the router's firmware? On the 2.4 and 5 Ghz band. Maybe because of Russian firmware they can differ a bit from the ones on your country. The output power is higher too (in Russia they used 1000 mw of output, on UE it's 200 mw usually) so maybe the router will get a bit hotter.
Cita messaggio
(15-09-2018, 17:43)Stefano45 Ha scritto:
(14-09-2018, 16:07)willy27 Ha scritto: From firmware is ok.

Did you check the channel list on the router's firmware? On the 2.4 and 5 Ghz band. Maybe because of Russian firmware they can differ a bit from the ones on your country. The output power is higher too (in Russia they used 1000 mw of output, on UE it's 200 mw usually) so maybe the router will get a bit hotter.

Don't worry,you have all channels,and I'm not sure about the output power...but the router seems just as before(not hotter)
In settings,I found that you can set 300 Tx Power for wifi...but I keep it normal,at 100.

[Immagine: Untitled.png]
Cita messaggio
(20-09-2018, 18:07)willy2 Ha scritto: Don't worry,you have all channels,and I'm not sure about the output power...but the router seems just as before(not hotter)
In settings,I found that you can set 300 Tx Power for wifi...but I keep it normal,at 100.

That mean 300% of output power. That's nice! Hopefully Amazon will have another 879 used so i can buy and do the testing keeping one with the original firmware.
See you and thanks for the infos. Smile
Cita messaggio
Oggi accedendo sul Router mi ha avvisato di un nuovo firmware... sapete qualcosa?
Cita messaggio
Ciao, quale hai ora?
Cita messaggio
La nuova è 1.07
Cita messaggio
Attenzione: aggiunto al primo post il link per il download del nuovo firmware per DIR-879 v. 1.07B05 20181024.

Sì, la nuova versione 1.07B05 è reperibile sui server americani e stavo per pubblicarla anche qui aggiornando il primo post della discussione.
Effettivamente il modello è molto seguito perchè ha avuto un indubbio successo a livello internazionale, per l'eccellente rapporto qualità\prezzo unito ad un design accattivante e ad un'ottima copertura wifi.
Il changelog ci dà queste indicazioni:

Codice:
DIR-879   AC1900 Wi-Fi Router

Version: v1.07B05
Hardware: A1
Date: 2018/Sep/11

Problems Resolved:
1. can’t open yahoo UI

Enhancement:
1. Update Dnsmasq to version 2.78
2. WPA2 security enhancement

Direi che soprattutto per il secondo enhancement merita l'aggiornamento.
Cita messaggio
Installazione effettuato tutto ok nessun problema.

Qualcuno mi sa dire come funziona il parental controll...come si setta? grazie
Cita messaggio
buonasera, utilizzo questo router da circa un anno, configurato tranquillamente con un model dlink e tutto funzionava perfettamente. Finalmente e' arrivata la fibra in zona (FTTC) e ho attivato l'offerta con telecom e qui sono iniziati i fastidi o meglio se mi "accontento" della wifi del router telecom ok, ma visto che il "vecchio" era piu' perfomante volevo utilizzarlo ma sto avendo parecchie difficolta'. Il primo problema e' di velocita'. Se lascio settato il router come era precedentemente e collego i 2 router nonostante la connessione sia circa a 100 mb da vari test non supera i 9 mb. al che ho provato a utlizzare il router in modalita' extender e nonostante ci impieghi moltissimo tempo a configurarsi dopo vari tentativi sono riuscito a farlo funzionare. oggi pomeriggio ha deciso di smettere di funzionare e non ne vuole sapere di collegarsi. qualche soluzione? Firmware aggiornato alla 1.07

Edit: dopo un pomeriggio di tentativi la notte si e' rimesso a funzionare. restano comunque i dubbi sulla configurazione a router
Cita messaggio


Vai al forum:


Utenti che stanno guardando questa discussione: 1 Ospite(i)